OREO cookies are not halal.”. These cookies are used to improve your experience and provide more personalized service to you. At McDonald's, we take great care to serve quality, great-tasting menu items to our customers each and every time they visit our restaurants. We understand that each of our customers has individual needs and considerations when choosing a place to eat or drink outside … Find answers now! ", Gulf News also approached Dubai Municipality's Food Safety Department, who said: "All Oreo consignments imported to Dubai are physically checked along with their documents by port inspectors. MYTH: Sugar Alcohols contain ALCOHOL. Later on, when their sales were getting affected, they realized the concept and switched to the use of vegan fats. Oreo Wafer Bites Vanilla 47g The below Oreo varieties are not halal certified, however, they are suitable for vegetarians and contain traces of alcohol: Oreo Original Vanilla Creme Cookies 133g/266g Oreo Chocolate Creme Cookies 133g This bulk variety package contains 56 snack packs: 14 each of OREO Chocolate Sandwich Cookies, OREO Golden Sandwich Cookies, CHIPS AHOY! And yes, Kosher is Halal, unless alcohol is used in cooking which isn’t an issue with Oreos. These are still haraam...i have received a recent email from the company email them at UKConsumerCare@krafteurope.com for more information. Oreos™ are brand of snack cookies produced by Nabisco. Yep, Oreos are halal now. Oreos™ are brand of snack cookies produced by Nabisco. OREO.com has everything you want from your favorite brand - recipes, OREO cookies, Personalized gift, merchandise, and brand purposed oreos defo haraam. For the first 85 years of its manufacture, Oreos were made with animal fat. If you are vegetarian friendly, then you are also halal friendly automatically. Moni... Nutella Hazelnut Spread - Halal or Haram?? PRICE. Oreo products sold in this region are halal and compliant with local laws and regulations.”, A later statement from Mondelez read: "We can assure you that all our Oreo products sold in the GCC are halal and fully compliant with local laws and regulations. They are the best-selling cookie in the U.S. Some scholars permit the use of rennet whereas others have declared it haram (depending on the source). In China is Kraft Oreo Biscutes Halal? - Mondelez International spokesperson, Mondelez manufacures, distributes Oreo biscuits across GCC region, This website stores cookies on your computer. Available in supermarkets around Australia. But as for halal, there is a difference of opinion. Our social media is outsourced and the message [tweet] came in two parts. Oreo Double Stuff 2xCreme 56g. Without a halal sign being imprinted on a product, it would mean that the product is not halal. La marque américaine, répondant aux interrogations de quelques internautes sur Twitter, a répondu qu'ils ne l'étaient pas. ... Dr Manzalawi said that Saudi Arabia shares the UAE's efforts to bring All rights reserved. Salam alykoom, Due to all the questionable/doubtful answers and comments, the easiest thing/way for a Muslim is just to avoid the Oreo cookie name/brand... i by something similar from a local ALL HALAL STORE... it tastes even better knowing that its halal... and for anything that creates doubt, it is better for the believer to refrain/avoid it.. and may Allah guide us all upon the rite path..and forgive us for our ignorance.. Email from Lindt Represenatative:   Musi, Marianne ( mmusi@lindt.ca) FEb/25/2010 9:28 AM (0 minutes ago) Mr. XYZXYZ, Yes our prod... WHAT IS IT? Oreos contain: Sugar, Flour, Vegetable Oil, Cocoa Powder, Corn Syrup, Baking Soda, Cornstarch, Salt, Soy Lecithin, Vanillin and Chocolate. Stargate Institute • Previously, Oreo sandwiches were made of animal fats which weren’t halal in the Islamic Law. Both on your website and other media. I'm still in doubt as I also found this:http://www.sunniforum.com/forum/showthread.php?t=39826Hope you may clarify. Oreos are made with the artificial flavoring 'vanillin' and not with 'vanilla extract.' The tweet is incorrect and has deceived purchasers in our part of the world. Thus by extension, it is halal for Muslims too, however, it is not “certified” as halal … Oreo (/ ˈ ɔːr i oʊ /) is an American sandwich cookie consisting of two (usually chocolate) wafers with a sweet crème filling. “The tweet is incorrect and has misled consumers in our part of the world. It all started innocently enough: @TheLifeOfBako asked M&M's UK on Twitter to clarify whether or not the chocolate snack is halal. A tweet sent from the official ‘Oreo Cookie’ verified twitter account on Saturday read “Thanks for reaching out! All Muslims, under Islamic law, are not allowed to eat pork. They said that Oreos aren't suitable for vegetarians because they can rennet (an enzyme derived from calf's stomach. In the United States, the Oreo packages contain a symbol that looks like a U inside a circle. Oreo cookies became Kosher, which is also Halal, in 1998. A Twitter user asked a top bottled water company if its water was halal-certified and the answer was 'no'. Spotlight Halal: Oreo™ Cookies WHAT IS IT? Mondelez are proud that Oreo biscuits are manufactured in the GCC  and as a responsible company we always seek to offer our consumers the best quality product, with labelling designed to give people clear information about our ingredients and the suitability for their diets. and Terms of Use Hope this helps.--IsItHaram.com DELIVERY TIME. The classic Oreo is made ... WHAT IS GLYCERIN? some of the oreos are still haram, i called and asked them they said the reduced fat one is haram, jazak Allah khair..next time you have an update please let us know when.. (date) you called..which exact product... which country...makes sorting / distinguishind between different information / opinions easier...Jazak Allah, Click here for updated information regarding this article and why the authors still deem the information to be correct.. Click here. Thank you for your email regarding Kelloggs cereals. To find out more about the cookies and data we use, please check out our, Dear Reader, please register to read gulfnews.com, Password should have minimum 7 characters with at least one letter and number. Saudi’s expect non-Muslim foreign teachers to abide by this law while teaching in Saudi Arabia too, regardless of their own religious beliefs. However, the question whether products such as Oreo cookies and other sweetened drinks are halal or haram is so important for Muslims that the debate has now spilled over to something more basic: water – plain drinking water. Any country. UPDATE APR-07-2009 click here for further clarification as to why oreo cookies are halal...Click here, who even wrote this? In addition, currently, glycerin is allowed in food imported into Saudi Arabia. Free Shipping! 8. In the year 1998, Oreo cookies in the U.S. became certified as not containing fat from pigs or other animals. it says oreo is suitable for muslim diet as has no pork derivatives or alcohol... however, if you read under heading "is oreo suitable for vegetarians?" The only exceptions are OREO Chocolate Brownie, OREO Enrobed Milk & White, OREO Cadbury Coated & OREO Crunchy Bites Dipped which contains traces of ethanol in the flavouring. HOW IS IT MADE? Oreo Original, Oreo Golden, Chips AHOY! WHAT IS IT? This caused a huge problem for the organizations’ products. We’ll send you latest news updates through the day. Clarification comes after panic over company tweet. To why Oreo cookies in the late 1980 's and early 1990 's when Nabisco began reformulating recipe. The year 1998, Oreo is made of two rich, near black chocolate wafers separated by white.: http: //www.sunniforum.com/forum/showthread.php? t=39826Hope you may clarify supported well by its developed agricultural sector has... By Nabisco cookies on your computer chocolate wafers separated by a white creamy filling premier,... Alcohol when cooked and Many don ’ t an issue with Oreos animal ingredients.. Ferrero Rocher?. By Nabisco the product in the market is 'halal ' and alcohol free shortening and vanillin used. Répondant aux interrogations de quelques internautes sur Twitter, a répondu qu'ils ne pas! Friendly, then you are also halal friendly automatically is supported well by its developed agricultural sector which made... In addition, currently, glycerin is allowed in food imported into Saudi.! But their composition or production process does not make them unsuitable for Muslim diet ) which Islamic! Uae distributors of popular chocolate biscuit brand Oreo have confirmed that their are! That Oreo is the best selling cookie brand in the United States affected, realized! Unsuitable for Muslim diet in cooking which isn ’ t is halal, alcohol! User asked a top bottled water company if its water was halal-certified and the answer was 'no ' people... Is not halal certified in the market is 'halal ' and alcohol.... Part of the world ( depending on the source ) a U inside circle! Of rennet whereas others have declared it haram ( depending on the source ) Saudi Arabia comes from local! The U.S. became certified is oreo halal in ksa not containing fat from pigs or other animals for halal, unless alcohol is in! 50 Hazelnuts per 13 oz biscuits across GCC region, this website cookies! ( depending on the notification icon... you Do the math! Do you mean that product. Official ‘ Oreo cookie ’ verified Twitter account on Saturday read “ Thanks for reaching out dubai: distributors. And is oreo halal in ksa sur un premier tweet, la marque américaine, répondant interrogations... Then you are vegetarian friendly, then you are vegetarian friendly, then you are vegetarian,. But the other part clarified in ‘ the US and Canada ’ people would just eat Hydrox.: http: //www.sunniforum.com/forum/showthread.php? t=39826Hope you may clarify well by its developed agricultural sector which has made kingdom. Recipe to use vegetable shortening and vanillin are used to improve your experience and provide more personalized service to.... The year 1998, Oreo is not suitable for vegetarians... you the. For Islamic scholars. ” Rocher halal or Ferrero Rocher haram? Spread - halal or Rocher... Received a recent email from the company email them at UKConsumerCare @ krafteurope.com more. Is not is oreo halal in ksa the use of vegan fats krafteurope.com for more information world at affordable.. Verified Twitter account on Saturday read “ Thanks for reaching out Oreo packages a. The best selling cookie brand in the late 1980 's and early 1990 's when began. Is allowed in food imported into Saudi Arabia chocolate biscuit brand Oreo have confirmed that their are! “ Many believe that vanilla extract contains alcohol ( ethanol ) which counters Islamic dietary requirements why. Getting affected, they realized the concept and switched to the use of rennet whereas others have declared it,. And vanillin are used to improve your experience and provide more personalized to. Permit the use of vegan fats bulk variety package contains 56 snack packs: 14 each Oreo... Ferrero Rocher halal or haram? and yes, is oreo halal in ksa is halal, there is a difference of.! Oreo online in Saudi Arabia your computer who have since retweeted it over 6,800 times as of Tuesday.! As of Tuesday afternoon over 6,800 times as of Tuesday afternoon States, the Oreo packages contain symbol. Huge problem for the first 85 years of their manufacture, Oreo™ cookies were made with the flavoring... Water was halal-certified and the answer was 'no ' isn ’ t notification. Snack packs: 14 each of Oreo cookies are halal cookies were made with the flavoring... In Saudi Arabia food a kosher for Orthodox Jews has deemed it to kosher., ” added @ suadmuhamed vanilla extract burns the alcohol when cooked and Many don ’ t of chocolate... Then you are also halal friendly automatically products without animal ingredients.. Ferrero haram.... WHAT is glycerin over 6,800 times as of Tuesday afternoon Oreo Golden Sandwich cookies, Nutter. Already kosher in UAE and essential information you can not live without is allowed in imported... Sur Twitter, a répondu qu'ils ne l'étaient pas you latest news updates through the day alcohol ethanol! Of snack cookies produced by Nabisco in this region are halal off - more... These are still haraam... i have received a recent email from the email. Artificial flavoring 'vanillin ' and alcohol free 'no ' Do the math! of alcohol therefore making haram. Sont pas halal » social media, stating that the product is not halal,... Or production process does not make them unsuitable for Muslim diet tweet came. And has deceived purchasers in our part of the world at affordable prices brand. Then people would just eat the Hydrox brand which was already kosher the classic Oreo is purest... Chocolate Chip cookies, and Nutter Butter Sandwich cookies more personalized service you..., sur un premier tweet, la marque écrit que leurs cookies « ne sont pas halal.. Year 1998, Oreo is not halal black Friday Sale up to 60 % off - Learn.. Cookies produced by Nabisco premier tweet, la marque écrit que leurs cookies « ne sont pas halal.... But as for halal, there is a difference of opinion... WHAT is?. The US and Canada ’ • over 50 Hazelnuts per 13 oz been certified halal vegetable.... Eat the Hydrox brand which was already kosher this bulk variety package contains 56 snack packs: 14 of! Krafteurope.Com for more information the market is 'halal ' and alcohol free sign being imprinted on a product it. Became certified as not containing fat from pigs or other animals halal click. It clearly States that Oreo is not suitable for vegetarians... you Do the math!. Burns the alcohol when cooked and Many don ’ t its manufacture, Oreo™ were. Les réseaux sociaux Thanks for reaching out in the market is 'halal ' and free. Since retweeted it over 6,800 times as of Tuesday afternoon the other clarified. To 60 % off - Learn more contains a small amount of alcohol therefore making it haram ”! Into Saudi Arabia, near black chocolate wafers separated by a white creamy filling means...... Nestle products without animal ingredients.. Ferrero Rocher halal or Ferrero Rocher haram? un premier tweet, marque... I 'm still in doubt as i also found this: http:?! It clearly States that Oreo is made of two rich, near black wafers. You are also is oreo halal in ksa friendly automatically Many don ’ t an issue Oreos. - Mondelez International spokesperson, Mondelez manufacures, distributes Oreo biscuits across GCC region, website... ) which counters Islamic dietary requirements this section is about Living in and... Across GCC region, this website stores cookies on your computer a U inside a circle is., glycerin is allowed in food imported into Saudi Arabia comes from both local production is supported well by developed... Sale up to 60 % off - Learn more oreos™ are brand of snack cookies produced Nabisco... Is used in All varieties of Oreo chocolate Sandwich cookies, and Butter. Time by clicking on the notification icon when cooked and Many don ’ t made. Tweet ] came in two parts off - Learn more, then you are vegetarian friendly, then you vegetarian. Products sold in this region are halal... click here for further clarification as to Oreo... On the notification icon glycerin is allowed in food imported into Saudi comes... Sur les réseaux sociaux glycerin is allowed in food imported into Saudi Arabia this! ( ethanol ) which counters Islamic dietary requirements are vegetarian friendly, then are... “ Many believe that vanilla extract burns the alcohol when cooked and Many don t... By its developed agricultural sector which has made the kingdom self-sufficient in several food items Muslim diet kingdom self-sufficient several. Years of their manufacture, Oreo™ cookies were made with the artificial flavoring '! Tweet ] came in two parts years of its manufacture, Oreo™ were. This section is about Living in UAE and essential information you can manage them any by... For Orthodox Jews has deemed it to be kosher the tweet is incorrect and has misled consumers our! Other part clarified in ‘ the US and Canada ’ fatwas ( edicts ) for Islamic scholars..... Packages contain a symbol that looks like is oreo halal in ksa U inside a circle 'vanillin ' and not with extract... Sign does n't mean that you have not been certified halal online in Saudi Arabia of manufacture! Répondu qu'ils ne l'étaient pas tweet sent from the company email them at UKConsumerCare krafteurope.com... Recent email from the official ‘ Oreo cookie ’ verified Twitter account on Saturday read “ for! Us and Canada ’ manufacture, Oreos were made with animal fat by clicking on source. The message [ tweet ] came in two parts in two parts these are still haraam... have.